News & Resources

2024 YVCF's New Board Leaders Elected

Home header image

Yakima, WA — New officers have been elected to serve as leaders on the Yakima Valley Community Foundation’s board of directors. The Foundation is the leading philanthropic organization in the region, awarding more than $35 million in grants and scholarships in its 20-year history and now managing investments of $80 million including its assets and those managed for other charitable organizations throughout Yakima and Kittitas counties.

Lisa Campbell-John steps into the role of chair for the Board of Directors, bringing a wealth of experience and a deep commitment to community health and well-being. Serving her second 3-year term on the board, which she joined in 2019, Campbell-John's leadership is marked by her impactful tenure as vice chair and as the former chair of the foundation’s Grants and Programs Committee. Campbell-John is the senior director of Community Health Services for the Yakima Valley Farm Workers Clinic where she has worked for the past 19 years. She has over 25 years of experience working in non-profits and healthcare to improve the lives of children and families. She focuses on providing preventative dental and health access through the clinic’s four mobile units, as well as helping to build strong healthy families through parenting programs, case management, and home visiting services for pregnant women, children, and families. She is an enrolled member of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate in Sisseton, South Dakota.

Cynthia Juarez, transitioning to past chair, continues her invaluable contribution to the Foundation's governance. Her dual roles as chair of the Audit Committee and her service on the Grants and Programs Committee reflect her versatile expertise and dedication to the foundation’s mission. Cynthia Juarez is a leader and champion for early education and family services that set the foundation for lifelong success and well-being. Juarez is the executive director of Early Learning and Migrant Education at Educational Service District (ESD) 105.

Ignacio Marquez has been elected to serve as vice chair. Marquez has served on the board since 2019 chairing the Audit Committee and now serves on the Grants and Programs Committee. Marquez is the regional assistant to the director for Eastern and Central WA at the Washington Department of Agriculture. He serves on the Central WA State Fair board and is also involved with several industry organizations.

Josh Beck continues as the board treasurer and chair of the Finance Committee. Beck began his career in the financial institution industry and currently serves as the financial controller of Petersen Hastings. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from Pacific University and graduated and earned honors from the prestigious, Western CUNA Management School based at Pomona College in Claremont, CA.

Elected Board committee chairs for 2024 include: Grants and Programs Committee Chair Ignacio Marquez; Finance Committee Chair Josh Beck; Governance Committee Chair Paul Nagle-McNaughton who is a senior director with Comprehensive Healthcare; Audit Committee Chair Cynthia Juarez, and Investment Sub-Committee Chair Cragg Gilbert retired grower/owner of Gilbert Orchards.

The foundation also acknowledges the contributions of outgoing members Greg Bainter and Rhonda Taylor and celebrates the continuity provided by those renewing their terms. David Severn and Miho Sugasawa will continue to serve the board with their renewed 3-year terms.

President and Chief Executive Officer Sharon Miracle, states “we extend our deepest gratitude to all our board members and leaders past and present for their dedication to our mission and to our community.”